cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

jsichi

Day 5: Am I going Insane?

This is my first attempt at quitting in over 20 years of smoking. I'm on Day 5 and I feel like my head might explode. I think I just need some reassurance that I won't always feel this insane. I'm struggling, but I'm going to do this.

Tags (1)
116 Replies
Lisaml

I'm new at this too, but I DO know that you won't feel like that forever. It will get better!!!!

This site has a ton of information on it, and I feel confident that if you keep reading, you will feel less and less insane. 

After 3 days, there is no nicotine left in your body. Now it's time for the healing to happen!!!;-) 

you CAN do this!!!! Xoxo

YoungAtHeart

Welcome to our community!

Congratulations on your decision to quit smoking and your first four days WON.  You are right on schedule with the insane feeling.  This isn't easy, but  with commitment and education, it CAN be done.  The reading materials I  will provide will inform you and help to make this current attempt a successful one.  They also make GREAT distraction tools!

The most important thing you can do right now is to educate yourself on what nicotine does to your body and mind. To that end, I highly recommend Allen Carr's “The Easy Way to Stop Smoking.” This is an easy and entertaining read. You can search for it online or at your local library.

You should also read the posts here and perhaps go to the pages of folks who you think might be helpful. You might visit whyquit.com, quitsmokingonline.com and livewell.com for the good information contained there. @https://excommunity.becomeanex.org/groups/best-of-ex has lots of blogs written by members of this site with their experiences and guidance.