cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

jsichi

Day 5: Am I going Insane?

This is my first attempt at quitting in over 20 years of smoking. I'm on Day 5 and I feel like my head might explode. I think I just need some reassurance that I won't always feel this insane. I'm struggling, but I'm going to do this.

Tags (1)
116 Replies
desiree465

I'm in my 4th month and I can assure you that feeling does start to go away. The first week was pretty awful for me too (it's bad for everyone) but those feelings of insanity started to slowly subside over time. It was probably by month 3 that I noticed I didn't want to kill people on a daily basis. I still get those feelings still but they aren't nearly as bad as they were in the beginning. So keep up the good work. Read blogs from the elders because they have the best advice.

jsichi

Thanks for the positive vibes!! I'm feeling better today, but I love hearing from everyone and their experiences. It gives me hope that we can all get though this together!

mrios5776

It was probably by month 3 that I noticed I didn't want to kill people on a daily basis." You mean those feelings are supposed to go away!

DLHaffner

YES!  You are going insane...enjoy it.  Seriously, enjoy it...that space weird feeling is all the posion leaving our bodies.  It's also the increased oxygen which I for one wasn't used to.  I felt like I was waking up out of a smoke-filled cloud.  I still do at day 39 but it's A LOT easier than my first week for sure.  Hang on!  Enjoy your ride! 

Roller831

The only way out is through....one step and then another will take you where you want to be.

Yes....you are currently going insane, but I promise, it does not last forever...

Giulia

Yes, you are going insane.  Welcome to the family!  We're all a little nutty here.  It's OKAY, we understand!  The cure is right around the corner.  It's called time.