cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

Rashy

Quitting Zyn

Today is day five on NRT (nicoderm patch 21 mg) and since my last zyn pouch. Prior to my quit date, I was using about 3/4th to a full can per day. I had been using consistently for one year.

I am a university student and most of my work revolves around research and writing. While at first the pouches served as a performance enhancer- significantly improving my attention and focus during work-  before I knew it, I was completely dependent on this stuff to get anything done, even a simple email. And shortly after that, I needed a pouch in my mouth to feel attentive and confident in social settings. At this point, I found myself using zyn throughout the day, even when watching netflix or stuff on youtube. I want to quit because I hate the idea that I've lost all control and have become fully dependent on this crap. I don't like that I need use to feel normal, good, and "like myself".

While the NRT has been helping with the cravings and withdrawal, I have been waking up throughout the night usually around 2 or 3 am- so perhaps I am not getting the best quality of sleep right now. The poor sleep is making the daytime fatigue even worse. Since my quite date, today's been the roughest. I'm low energy and mood, unmotivated, bored, and feeling a little lonely. This sucks because I have so much school work to do and am falling behind. Maybe this wasn't the best time to quit, but I'm 5 days in already and don't want to turn back. Hopefully, my motivation and attention improve during week 2... Thought I'd share my experience since I found reading up on others' posts helpful. 

Labels (2)
4 Replies
Barbscloud