cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

jack14

Getting Started

Hi - My name is Jack and I live in Washington DC, I've been smoking for 15 years and I've tried to stop several times. I hope that this program can help me quit. I'm a little nervous about quitting. I'm not sure I can do it. Does anyone else feel the same way?
0 Kudos
46 Replies
sandy11

Hi Jack, my name is Sandy and I just joined today. Ive been smoking for close to 14 years and have tried to quit at least 20 different times. Im totally with you on this one, Im totally nervous as hell and not sure of myself either because Ive failed so many times. Plus the fact that everytime I get stressed out I reach for one. Trust me when I say your definately not alone 🙂
0 Kudos
lorelai

oh my god,yes. I am so totally sure I'm gonna fail most of the time. And the closer I get to my quit date the more I feel myself wanting to chicken out. Only I'm not going to let myself do it this time. By joining this site I am asking for help and that has never come easy
for me. If I'm gonna ask, then I'm damn well gonna follow through. And if I DO fail the first time out, I'll pick myself up and try again.
But I know how you feel, I really do. And I actually quit once about 10 years ago. I don't even remember what it was like. What I do
remember is being a stupid ass and picking it up again when things got tough for me. But yeah, I'm nervous too. You are absolutely
NOT the only one. This is a very big deal, what we are all doing.
0 Kudos
julie46

I surely feel the same way!! But we will never know if we dont try right!! Good luck, you can do it!! if not keep trying thats what i plan on
0 Kudos
sandy11