cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

jsichi

Day 5: Am I going Insane?

This is my first attempt at quitting in over 20 years of smoking. I'm on Day 5 and I feel like my head might explode. I think I just need some reassurance that I won't always feel this insane. I'm struggling, but I'm going to do this.

Tags (1)
116 Replies
emilyt123078

OH YES! It's all quite normal to feel sick, dizzy, weird, gross, tired, hungry, exhausted, angry, sad.  It's normal to eat everything in sight, cry into your sleeve and feel like you're going to explode. Does not last. I'm on day 43 and it gets better fairly quickly. Tell the addict to take a hike and that as bad as they feel, it won't last long and you'll be on to better, healthier things. You can do this! We're here for you ♥

auntchelle24

jsichi‌ I'm on day 3, which seems harder than 1 and 2. My brain seems scrambled today. Hopefully it wont last too long. Hang in there! 

emilyt123078

Consider the feelings you're going through as a flushing out of bad toxins. Get out and take in some fresh air. Drink lots of water to help flush it all out. Scream if you have to. You got this!!! ♥

jsichi

auntchelle24‌ - Thanks! Good luck to you!! Felt a little better today. Hopefully you will too

We can do this!!

Bdwallhau

jsichi‌, I hope you're still moving forward with your quit. How are you? I'm only about 6 weeks into my quit, so those insane days are very recent for me. I had to laugh at myself: clothing on backwards, trying to figure out what pasta to have with our pasta, etc. Consider it a sign that you're recovering, which is GREAT!  You'll continue to see and feel changes. Some are uncomfortable, and some are welcome. All are a part of your healing.

I, too, had 20-plus years under my belt, and I smoked heavily the last 5 of those. You can do this. It will not always be easy, but is do-able. Keep it up! I'm rooting for you!

Dawn

jsichi