cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

mema

Any advice?

I have been smoking off an on for 35 years. My husband smokes and has no desire to quit smoking. He smokes around me when I am trying to quit. No he will not quit around me so I have to learn to deal with that. I need to quit so bad. It is just as much as a habit as it is an addiction for me. Smoking is really making my health decline. I think I can get Chantix again. I have been on Chantix before and it really help the craving. I know the nicotine patch isn't the thing for me because it keeps me up at night and makes me have crazy dreams. I smoke heavy first thing in the morning. Will someone give me some advice?
0 Kudos
18 Replies
mema

Thank you Doreen. My husband just has a hard time not smoking around me. He starts out trying to be supportive by not lighting up but it doesn't last. It is just something I am going to have to accept. I really appreciate your support. I hope to keep in contact with you. I really need the support and help of friends. I hope to keep in contact with you.
0 Kudos
michael8

This info may help in addition to what Polly said. I was told that if my wife put the patch on an hour before I woke up (which is what I do) it would help the difficulty in the morning of having all that withdrawal when starting the day, I was told the patch takes 2 whole hours to get your blood up to a comfortable level. I can't recommend the following to you, but this is what I do. I chew a piece of nicotine gum when I wake up (because I smoked so much that it is an option [consult your physician]). That is what helps me get through the morning. Which is the hardest moment of the day to stay cigarette free for me also.
0 Kudos
barb12