cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

Brittney4

Mother in need of some help!

I really want to quit smoking! I have been smoking since I was 12 yrs old and am now 26. My daughter just turned 3 years old and I know I have to quit before she gets to the age where she understands what it does to you. I've read other discussions in here talking about how your children ask you to quit. I couldn't imagine how you all feel! I can't stand it when she looks at me when I'm smoking.

I guess I'm asking for help because I am very new to this website... actually just signed up today. I really like the idea of Triggers and working through them. My question to you is how do you know what date to set as your quit date? Should I wait a month, a week, 2 weeks? I am so busy with my job, I travel all the time so it's really never a 'good' time to quit, I'll just have to DO IT!

I would really appreciate any help or advice anyone has for me! Thanks...
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
5 Replies
tara2

I have a six year old baby girl and we are at that stage. I try my best to not smoke around her (not in the car, sneak outside when she is in the shower, etc.). She does catch me, though, and is always on me about how bad it is because they learn about it in school. She has actually (sincerely) said "I don't want you to die". You would think that would make the cravings easier to overcome, but I haven't found that to be true. Now, I am getting married next week and promised my fiance I would be quit by that date (we have been together 11 years and he has dealt with my smoking the whole time). I tried yesterday as my quit date, then caved and snuck a few. Am trying none today and am having a really tough time. I don't have any profound advice for you, just want you to know you are not alone!
0 Kudos
Brittney4