cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Discuss different approaches to quitting, including medication

Tdraym

Using Nicoderm Patch +

I am trying to quit smoking, started using 21 mg patch 12/18/19 , my problem is I have gone 2 days without a smoke, was smoking 2+ packs a day , with the patch I am also using the gum 4 mg and the mini mints 4 mg. I have a craving for a smoke very often , So chew nicorette gum 4 mg for an hour or more 1 1/2 hrs  maybe 20 -30 minutes later will take a mini lozenge 4 mg , also using hard candy in between some of the nicotine aids. So is this going to help or harm me with the 3 aids, to much nicotine to keep me from smoking 18 hrs a day, still need to break the craving, how long who knows ? Just want to be an EX smoker

Thanks Tdraym

Labels (1)
67 Replies
Barbscloud

Welcome to the Ex and congrats on your quit. I'm not an expert on NRT.  All the literature I just read discussed combining the patch with gum OR lozengers was ok.  I couldn't find anything about using all three.  Do you have any other tools you're using for the cravings?  Exercise, chewing on straws, drinking cold water, deep breathing, etc.  Two days is great.  You're off to a great start one day at a time.   

Barb

Tdraym

At this time I have not set any real relief setting , The big thing is back in August I broke my back had to have an operation on it , have been sitting home for 4 months and board smoking too much and hopefully can kick the habit since I have to much time on my hands and can work at it, Just looking for any advice that can help me solve the problem and thank you for replying, this is going to take time according to the patch and gum instructions, just hate to look at it , at 6-8 wks. of 21 mg. patch and then 14 mg. patch and so on, just hope I can get over the 3 , gum loz. and patch quicker than that. But I'll work my hardest at it

Thanks ,Tdraym 

Barbscloud