cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

amanda_1987

cant wait to quit, hope i get enough support, i dont have good will power

My name is amanda. i have a 20 month old daughter and this is my third time trying to quit smoking. but it is my first time using a website or other sources to help me out. so im hoping i wont give in after my quit date. most of all i want to quit for myself and i also want to quit so my daughter doesnt think its ok when she gets older. the hardest part is hearing people tell me all the "facts" about smoking like i dont already know them, and it just makes me wanna smoke right then, im not good at handling people telling me what to do, or telling me things i already know that the whole world knows. so this is going to be challenging but i am ready for it.

0 Kudos
3 Replies
giochickak

Congrats on taking the first step towards quitting!  Whether you have quit, set a quit date or are just thinking about it, that's a big step.  I know what you mean about people telling you the facts about quitting smoking, I used to hear the ads on the radio about the dangers of smoking, and I would turn down the volumn, and then light a cigarette!  I myself smoked for 7 years, quit for 4, started smoking again (that whole just one won't hurt mentality) and only quit 19 days ago after for smoking for 3 years.  Good luck with quitting, and remember, you can do this!

0 Kudos
aschwilliams

You seem like a really strong person.  You will do just fine and you sound like you already know what you need to do.  I am on my 4th day and it is getting better and better.  I actually surprised myself and never expected in the back of my head to make it this far.  Your daughter is lucky to have a mother like you.  Keep up the good work and remember we are all in it together!!!

0 Kudos
imakelley2

Hey Amandda,