cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

balazs

This site is a blessing

Hello all, I have been training to quit smoking for the past few months. You know those days when you decide to smoke no cigarettes, but then find yourself speeding to the gas station to pick up a pack the next morning? It seems to happen every time I make an attempt to quit. Yesterday I told my friends that I was going to quit when i finished my pack. Of course they laughed and pointed out my failed attempts. It made me feel weak willed. Oddly enough, I was checking my facebook this morning and ran into this site. I consider myself a person with strong will power but as this site explained, my brain always screams "Just one more!". I am a college student who is tired of spending my parents money on my own self destruction, feeling anxious for cigarettes, wheezy, and weak. I have lost all of my natural stamina, and I don't even want to exercise because I can't breath correctly. Also, sex tires me out ridiculously and I can't do it like I used to. This bothers the hell out of me because I have had a very confident sex life up until recently. I am 19, but I started when I was 14. There have been time periods when I have smoked unreasonable amounts of cigarettes. I recall a day that I smoked over 60. My first semester of college, I was smoking a little over a pack a day. Since I began smoking over 20 a day, I have felt shortness of breath and constant chest pain. I read some of your other stories and I feel lucky that I haven't been smoking for 10 plus years. I have alot to learn from successful quitters, which is why I am here.