cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

happy2read

So new I'm still tracking

I have decided I should quit but don't really want to quit. It looks crazy when I write it but there it is. I am a teacher and decided that summer, with less stress, would be the time to quit. But now that my kids are home I find that I am sneaking around to smoke. At 47 that is a bit ridiculous so it is quittin' time. I am very anxious about that first day of no cig with the coffee as I walk the dog =-(
0 Kudos
14 Replies
Susan59

Hey Happy,

Deciding to quit is the most important thing however you have to also want to quit. If you don't really want to it won't happen.

I am also 47 and had been smoking for 31 years. I decided to quit in February and have been smoke free since 2-25. I used the patch and it was very helpful. I can't say it was easy but this time was easier then previous attempts because I had truly decided to quit. Life is so much better without cigarettes. I have more money, I breathe better, I smell better, I never have to worry about going to get cigs or where I put them or if I have a light, or if I can smoke where I happen to be etc. It is amazing the amount of time I have back in my life now that I have quit.

Follow the EX plan and you can do this. If you would like additional reading and such go to www.whyquit.com It is a cold turkey site but it has a great deal of information that is helpful. Use whatever medicines you think are best for your quit. The patch is good...other have had good success with Chantix or gum etc.

This is an addiction and we are addicts. Once we come to terms with that and realize that our addiction will continue to try to prevent us from quitting it is easier. A physical crave for a cig only lasts 3 minutes. The first month or so I quit 3 minutes at a time. You can do this if you want to. You have to want it.

Let me know if I can help in any way.