cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

t1wells

Quit After 20+ Years

I am using the becomeanex.org site to stop my nasty habit. My quit date is 02/23/10 and I am doing it for my health and my family, not to mention the overwhelming expenses. I'm 40 and know that smoking is aging me beyond what nature intended. I truly love to smoke but I have to stop. How can I tell my 15 and 16 year olds to never smoke when that is all they have ever seen me do. I have this beautiful granddaughter that is 9 months from my 23 year old (who also smokes) and I don't want her biggest memory of  me being the way that I smelled like smoke.

0 Kudos
128 Replies
ed_17

I signed up just a few minutes ago and this will be my first real attempt at quitting. I've been smoking for 51 years and now it's time to quit. I want to improve my health and save some money while doing it. I going to give it my best effort and "Good luck"  to the rest of the group.

0 Kudos
slbart55

I have smoker for about 30 yrs, and I love it.  But I need to quit - it is SO bad for me in so many ways.  I'm weaning off of cigs with the help of Chantix.  I've been taking it for 5 days, and it is helping with the urge.  My problem is my thinking patterns.  It seems like almost EVERY situation is a mental trigger!  My brain is fighting me!  But I'll try damn hard, and I'll pray damn hard.  I know God didn't save me from a terrible addiction so I could kill myself with cigs!  Qutiing is SUCH a hard thing to do!!!!

0 Kudos
lois2

yes quiting is hard to, i have got to do it all over, i hate that, 6mon. quit and i blew it, i do hate to go threw it again but i will, good luck

0 Kudos