cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

joy14

New, Need Help Please :)

Help me start? I am so overwhelmed and confused. 

I have made a decision to stop smoking again. I stopped before, for about 3 yrs, but took it up again unfortuneatly due to

too many stressors in my life at that time. Now, at this point, I have been smoking again for 6 yrs. I am 62 years old and

started smoking when I was about 18-19 yrs old.

I have been reading through this site since early this morning and it seems like a wonderful place. So much information, I think I got overly excited and read so much that I am just so confused now where/when to start.

Any advice would be welcome a so appreciated. I really want to do this. 

Do I quit now. Wait 2 weeks until I read everything recommended? Or .....?

Help!!??

Joy

23 Replies
Giulia

Welcome Joy!  My suggestion would be to spend a couple of weeks just reading on here and setting up your quit plan.  (Click on "My Quit Plan" upper right side.)  Quitting takes preparation for most people.  We don't just jump into the water without learning how to swim first.  The stronger your preparation, the more likely your success, for the more you know the less likely you are to make common mistakes.  The Best of EX  is a great place to begin your education.  So I would set a quit date for a couple of weeks or a month ahead.  Give yourself a firm basis from which to begin. I took a month, myself, to get my head in gear and gain the education necessary.  You do what you think will work best for you.  After all, you know yourself best of all.

Glad you've joined us!

joy14

Thank you so much Giulia. I appreciate the great advice and thanks for answering my question! 

0 Kudos
shashort