cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

My final quit!!!!

I have been smoking since I was 23 years old and am now 40.  Last few years I was smoking a pack a day.  I decided to quit in January but that didn't go so well.  I managed to go for 3 hours before giving in.   Then I had tried again a couple weeks later and managed to quit for 9 days!!!  I thought I was done; but I wasn't!  I slipped. I quit cold turkey that time and the first few days were hell but then it got better.  But I started getting really depressed which isn't me at all.  So I caved in.   I felt so guilty and ashamed and so disappointed in myself.  I really was beating myself up and there was a battle going on in my head.

I tried the gums and lozengers but they just didn't keep my from smoking for more than a few hours at a time.      So, I went a got the patch and that is working great for me.    I put one on Wednesday morning and that day wasn't hard at all!  Then I went the whole day yesterday without smoking but there were more cravings the second day.  I took the patch off an hour before going to bed and had a cig right before bed.  I hated it and didn't get anything from it,  This time I didn't beat myself up for that slip though.  I knew after smoking that cig that I was done with cigarettes.  It was a very unpleasant experience and even made me nauseated.  So this morning at 6:30 am, I put on another patch as soon as I woke up.  I've only had a few thoughts about smoking in the last 5 hours but all that keeps coming to my mind when those thoughts come up is how nasty and bad it made me feel last night!  So that is great!!!!!!!    Just a reminder for those using the patch--don't smoke while you are wearing the patch.  you cold have a stroke or heart attack.  I wouldn't want to chance that!