cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

jacob5

Lozanges, Patches, etc

I'm using lozenges to quit but am just posing a question for others.... I'm wondering if they're worth it? I thought it would help while trying to break the habit part, but am finding myself feeling the same cravings every two hours and wondering, am I just going to have to try and get off these lozenges? Maybe cold turkey is wiser? Any thoughts, suggestions?
Tags (1)
0 Kudos
9 Replies
kim41

Hey supermommy4... I tried the Chantix too. It seemed to work great until I had to increase the dosage and that's when I started getting sick. I had to stop using it. I work in healthcare and a doc friend of mine told me that for some people staying on the lowest dose for a little longer than recommended might do the trick. It takes a while for the med to stabilize in the system. So if the recommendation is to stay on the lowest dose for week, try two or three weeks, then increase it. And don't try to quit until you can increase the dosage. I think you'll find that as the med builds in your system you'll feel less and less like smoking. Until you're ready to give it up completely. Some people have had very good luck with it... and if it takes a month or two longer for you, it's better than not quitting at all!!
0 Kudos
supermommy4

I'm not sure about the lozenges or the gum. I tried patches and found myself smoking with them on which is a huge no no. Now I'm trying Chantix and took my first dose yesterday. I plan to have my quite date on the 15th but I think that might be to soon. I think if you hold off on the lozenges till you are having such a craving you can't stand it anymore it might help to not use them so much. Hope that was somewhat helpful. GOOD LUCK
0 Kudos
kim41