cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

jack14

Getting Started

Hi - My name is Jack and I live in Washington DC, I've been smoking for 15 years and I've tried to stop several times. I hope that this program can help me quit. I'm a little nervous about quitting. I'm not sure I can do it. Does anyone else feel the same way?
0 Kudos
46 Replies
tracy9

This site isn't going to help you quit it is just a place to ask questions and get support. You ,my friend, have to WANT to quit otherwise its all in vain. When you 're ready you will know it and no matter how much money you spend on the patch, the gum, the zyban or even the chantix......it wont help if you DO NOT want to give up the habit. The cigarettes are easy but the old habits are the hardest. I was a diehard smoker for 33 years so I know what you are going through but dont give up before you give yourself a chance. You may slip but we are only human and thats what we do. I havent had a smoke since March 7th and I wake up every morning and want one with my morning coffee outside listening to the birds. I drink my coffee inside standing at the counter and watch the birds from the window. One of these days I will venture out and sit at the table and be able to drink it without a cigarette in my hand. Just give it a try and if it doesnt work......it doesnt work but it just means its not your time!
0 Kudos
tracy9

A few thousand dollars that your Insurance Company would or wouldn't pick up. I have had 2 members of my immediate family go through a 30 day in patient program and it took more than 30 days for the two of them to "get it". I remember when they were going through it....my husband went through it 23 years ago and they told him to lose one habit (drinking) and pick up another (smoking). He quit 8 years ago. My son just recently went through the 30 day in=patient and all they gave him was a nicotime patch.