cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

jack14

Getting Started

Hi - My name is Jack and I live in Washington DC, I've been smoking for 15 years and I've tried to stop several times. I hope that this program can help me quit. I'm a little nervous about quitting. I'm not sure I can do it. Does anyone else feel the same way?
0 Kudos
46 Replies
jack14

this is the first time I've ever tried quiting with an online program. I must say by reading other peoples posts I am not the only one who has these feelings of being afraid and nervous. I think that by knowing I'm not alone has actually helped my attitude about quitting. I think this time I might actually quit. Thanks for your support. I know that you will be able to quit. I think you need to find a good reason. Mine is for my daughter.
0 Kudos
rhonda24

Any advice on how to get that encouragement from my husband? I've tried and failed several time to quit, he's never smoked so he doesn't understand why I can't just quit. After reading one of your replies to another post to him trying to get the point across that I need his support instead of shutting me down when i have one cig his reply is "well i've heard it so many times that you're going to quit" seriously wtf. i'm trying to get across to him that i need his support but everytime i hear this sh!t from him it makes me want to light up. He thinks i can just say ok today I quit and that's it. It's over. Like an old shirt I'm never going to wear again. I understand his point. I've said it several times, I've tried quitting w/out telling him and I've tried before to tell him i need his encouragement.........instead when i do light up, despite the fact I made it through a couple strong cravings w/out giving in the same day, the minute i give up and light one he's all over me like that one cigarette means I'm just not ever going to quit.
0 Kudos
shawn_ohagen