cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

maudeish

Day Three

Hello everyone, decided to join the forums in hopes of keeping with this non-smoking thing. I'm on Day 3 and I haven't had any crazy urges yet; I keep expecting them to pop up though. I've been smoking for about six or seven years. I'm quitting cold turkey, and while this website says quitting cold won't work or won't work in the long run, I disagree. I just finished reading a book called "The Easy Way to Stop Smoking" by Allen Carr and it's been super helpful so far. I don't think about having a cigarette every minute... what gets me is going to bars and other places where people are smoking, so I'm letting myself have a few days before I step into that situation.

The thing I'm worried about right now is my husband quitting. I can't get him to look at this website or read that book for the life of me, even though when I ask him if he'd like to quit smoking, he says yes. He's been smoking for about 14 years so I feel he definitely won't have as "easy" of a time as I will. Any tips?

Well guess I'll get back to browsing the forum.... ❤️
0 Kudos
5 Replies
edith2

I would suggest that you focus on your quit. Hopefully your good example will encourage your husband. But if it doesn't, there's really nothing you can do. You can set your boundaries and let him know that his smoking bothers you and that you'd like him to not smoke around you. But like I said, just focus on what you need to do for yourself.
0 Kudos
jacob5

A lot of us quit cold turkey and it will work. You're not unfortunately be able to make your husband quit, but I live with a smoker also.... I've tried a bunch of times but it seems this time when I finally made up my mind, it doesn't even bother me they smoke. I dont know about at your house, but we smoke out doors anyway.

Good job and it gets much easier!
0 Kudos

You got the right book and the right idea.