cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

o2run

neurotransmitter help for cravings (acetyl-L-carnitine)

Good morning courageous people!

I know I'm a sporadic poster on here. (I don't tend to spend too much time on the computer) but wanted to check in and share some things I've been playing around with to help my brain and body recover. 

Disclaimer- I'm not a doctor or scientist- so do your own research, talk to you your doc, listen to your body, etc. before trying anything!

I'm fascinated with the brain and neurotransmitters and how nicotine works and why we thought we loved it so much. I also have been flabbergasted by the cravings that hit me in a physical way (usually during the times of day I smoked before (like 10am ) and how it seemed to be to definitely have a physical effect beyond the psychological. So- with some research and also interesting articles I've found on here and sent to me by some of you- I've been gently working on doing things to increase the stuff that was damaged by nicotine coming in and taking over the acetacholine receptors. Besides just working on things to raise back levels of dopamine, etc through physical exercise and healthy living- there was still this other gap. So recently I ordered the amino acid supplement acetyl-l-carnitine- (most people use this for weight loss or body building stuff). But I thought I would try it during my typical craving times.