cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Discuss different approaches to quitting, including medication

sylvie

Have you seen the ad on TV from hungry lawyers about Chantix?

I saw it on ABC just before the news.
You see the box of Chantix, and the words suicide in big letters....
they are telling people if one in their family commited suicide while on chantix, to call them to sue.....
I have heard about people comminting suicide on chantix.....it his so very very sad, since i suppose they value their lifes since they where quitting smoking......
i am not a doctor but....here it goes.....i have a hard time believing that pills can make you do that, unless you already have tendacies......then i guess it could be dangerous....but so would any other pill....mood altering or otherwise...
and now for alot of people that might have found help with chantix...they will be scare to take it....
its my opinion, what is yours?
Labels (1)
Tags (1)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
SaraSmile

I heard about that too, a lawyers commercial is what it is. Studies show if you're already a depressed peson, suicidal thoughts are more pronounced when adding Chantix to the mix. Those are few and far between! I am on my last week of Chantix. I can attest to the ups and downs of the whole thing! Geez, just quitting smoking makes you depressed! But the UP side is, I have 72 days smoke free and I owe it all to Chantix! Your best bet is to have your doctor there every step of the way! Keep them informed of the way you're feeling and just let the pill and you will power work! WILL POWER? Yes, I said will power?! The pill doesn't do it for you, you have to have will power! I still struggle, at 72 days with cravings! Face it people, WE ARE ADDICTED TO CIGARETTES! It's hard to give it all up BUT.........it's a true possibility! I for one, don't want to be connected to a hose that supplies oxygen to my system just so I can breath, do you????