cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

summer

I chain smoke for no reason and every reason,how am i going to quit?

I'm new to this,saw on t.v and thought i would try it.As i sit here i smoked 4 butts,and lighting another.My mom smokes,all my friends smoke.My boyfriend does not smoke,but he is far from sensitive to my needs.My boyfriend is also a trigger!! I have no support at all.I have tried to quit before and failed due to added stress and no support.I feel as though i'm truly failing my daughter.I look at her and say"no more butts!!' but 5 minutes later i'm smoking.Im a new mom to a 6 month old baby girl.She is the greatest thing that has ever happened to me.If i cant quit for her,then i'm doomed...right?
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
5 Replies
dawn8

Don't consider yourself a failure for not being able to quit. Most everyone who tries to quit isn't successful the first time. Sometimes it takes several times. I have two children also, and I've tried to quit since they were babies. It's a matter of will, and I was never strong enough to quit. I would make excuses. It's tough, but you have to quit making excuses to smoke and turn that around into excuses not to smoke. A lot of quitting is physical, but a lot is mental, too. If you can overcome the mental, you will be able to overcome the physical. My advice is to NEVER give up. No matter how hard it is and no matter how many times you have to try. Oh, and don't worry about the people around you--do this for YOU. You deserve to quit. I wish you all the luck and will power in the world!!!
0 Kudos
summer

THANK YOU DAWN : ) your right,i just wish i was as strong with this as i am with everything else.I wish quitting was as easy as starting!!haha
0 Kudos
gin

"If i cant quit for her,then i'm doomed...right?"
WRONG!!!

You are not doomed - cuz if you are, then I am too! (but I don't believe I am) You can do this!