cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

rachel17

More trouble the second time around!

I am 36yrs. old and a mother of 2 ages 4 and 5. I had quit smoking for six years while starting my family,never thought I would start again. I have been smoking again for 3 yrs. I want to stop now for my health and I don't want my kids to think it's ok to smoke.(The idea of either one of them smoking ever gives me wicked nightmares.) I have never smoked in front of them but kids are much smarter than we give them credit for. (I'm sure they must know.) I'm having a much harder time quiting this time around. Life is crazier now!!! Any suggestions? My quit date is set for sept. 4th.
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
12 Replies
laura36

You and I have the same story...I quit for six years to start a family and two and half years ago thought I could have one on New Year's eve. My husband is a smoker though, and not the reason I smoke, also smokes outside, but very hard to deal with. When he travels, I have a lot less urges to cheat.

I am so annoyed that the first time I started and quit for six years ago it seemed easier, now at 34 it seems much harder...I totally agree with you. I wish I never started two and half years ago! But realize there's not much i can do to about it and beating myself up is not a good idea either.

My quit date was Sept. 2nd.
0 Kudos
rachel17