cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

Julie1960

How can I help someone

I'm new at this and would hate to say or give wrong advise.  Cause I am learning myself.

8 Replies
maryfreecig

You can tell your own story. That you are staying smober no matter what, that you've done it one day at a time. 

YoungAtHeart

You can always cheer on another newbie, celebrate a posted milestone, encourage someone who is having a rough time.

You will be an elder before you know it and will be able to share from your experience.  If you have found something that has worked to help you handle stress, or a crave, you might also pass it along to someone experiencing the same thing.

Lots of ways to get involved here!

Mysticcat

As long as your relies/comments come from a place of good/love/kindness you’ll do fine. People want to feel as if they are heard and cared about. That they matter. 

There are so many different approaches to quitting and the needs of people. It’s difficult to know what’s the exact right thing to say, just  being there for someone is the most important thing in my view point. Sharing your experiences, triumphs and failures is a great way to connect with others. 
Sometimes it’s hard for new quitters to understand to that although they don’t get replies they want to hear(especially from elders) they get replies because people care. I always said to newbies on my old site. If elders didn’t care they would have not replied and just scrolled by. 

sweetplt

Hi Julie...you can just tell someone you are here to help encourage them...and tell your story ... your hurts ... your truths, etc., the most important thing sometimes all anyone wants is a simple hello...and keep the quit etc., ...I think you just asking this questions makes me know you will be a great help to anyone here at Ex’s...Happy Sunday evening...~ Colleen 405 DOF 

Giulia