cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

Scare1971

When will it end???

Hello I am new to EX.... I have been a smoker on and off since I was 13, now 48. I have quit once for 2 years then typical me when stress is overwhelming I picked the habit back up. I have recently found out I have heart disease and just had 4 stents placed almost 3 weeks ago. I was terrified!! That was it I was done!! Yes I quit for 20 days....What happens today...WORK Stress is the devil for me, I let it stress me till all I think I have to help is smoking. So yes I started back up, all I had worked so hard for down the drain. I was on Chantix for a bit, but the craziness of that drug was too much for me. I do hear maybe just taking a half dose is much better, but I dont know. Im thankful to have found this support group and to learn how all you wonderful people have kicked this horrible habit!! 

12 Replies
AnnetteMM

Fear does not work. Willpower does not work.

You must be WILLING to live free from nicotine. And you must see hope at the end of the struggle. Because it does end.

Did smoking ease your stress?

Have you read Alan Carr's book about addiction?

It is totally doable.

0 Kudos
Scare1971

I just downloaded it to my kindle I’m excited and curious to see what its all about!! 

AnnetteMM

Excellent

0 Kudos
sweetplt

Hi and Welcome to Ex’s...Scare1971