cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

ed_

Veterans

Hi all....I'm a 9 year USN (submarine service) vet....and a lifelong smoker. My quit date is Jan 1, 09. I got the prescription for Chantix today. I also was able, through just THINKING about it, to cut back from a pack + per day, to 1/2 pack. Looking forward to not hacking and not being a social outcast. Look me up vets....we have a lot to be proud of , including kicking the habit!
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
17 Replies
will-williams

Just joined ...gimme a holla
0 Kudos
tallcameron

I quit on 11/8/09 so tomorrow is going to be my 1 week date.  It hasn't been easy, but I really want to do this for myself, my wife, and the people who will be in my future.

4 years active duty Marine Corps.  now i'm a civilian student.  I knew alot of people in the Corps that were against smoking, but so many did it, that quite a few of the "haters" started smoking.  I knew if i had tried to quit while i was in it was going to be tough. 

Here I am now, and I hope I can stick with it.

0 Kudos
dedmonds

I can relate to both of you guys.  I am a retired Marine with over 20 years of active service.  I quit smoking about 2 years ago with the help of chantix for about 6 months.  I moved into a new job and the triggers kicked in......"new boss".  So here I am back again to finally kick this habit in the butt.  I have already reduced my smoking and plan to stop within weeks.  Good Luck!

0 Kudos
dorothy-moore

Hi guy's,  I am an Air Force Vet.  trying to quit fot the fourth time.  The longest time I've been able to go without cigarettes is three months.  Hope I succeed this time!!!!!!!

0 Kudos
bill-wason