cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

jo2010

Today's the first day...THIS time!

Now, I've quit before easily and successfully, but I want a place to go when I feel like smoking.  Just finished my last smoke a couple of  hours ago.  Feeling okay and want to see if I can make it till tomorrow w/o a patch.

I'm Jo and I'm 51.  35 years of experience!  I want to quit for me and my pets.  I can't keep up with the rising costs either!  I think that this site can be fun, instead of going it alone.  I don't have a lot to say yet, but you'll soon know more about me than you ever wanted to know!

Happy New Year, folks!!

0 Kudos
16 Replies
the1andonly

I have been smoking for 12 years.  Im 27 and have to kids that i need to quit for but its really hard when i have NO support.  I hope this site helps.  so far so good but i am extremely emotional today and dont want to leave the house or my room for that matter.  

0 Kudos
jo2010

Can you get to a place where you are unlikely to smoke?  Write down how much you're saving and treat yourself.  Especially if today is the first day...reward yourself with something that isn't associated with smoking. 

I've stopped times before and I can recommend getting a handheld game like BlackJack or Poker, cheap at Radio Shack, etc. and just keep that in your hands or right by your side.  It's one thing that works.

I sit on my couch, facking the TV.  My left side is against the couch and I got out my little laptop mouse and am using it in my right hand...my smoking hand.  I'm just playing solitaire and watching TV, but my hand is occupied and my stomach full.  Anything to keep your hands busy and your mind off the smokes.  Just things that help me.

0 Kudos