cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

adanna

Today is the first day

Today I woke up and decided this is it, I'm done. I have had 2 cigs today. I figure I will cut them out until this pack is done, and then i'm done.

I lost my job on Monday, and I figure there is no time like the present to change everything. so here I go, wish me luck. I hope to be totally smoke free by next Wednesday, which is the 22nd. But I don't want to buy any more packs. losing my job and having no money should help. the bummer is I can't afford anything like gum or the patch. has any of you quit without the aids? if so how did it go. I have been smoking for almost 17 years, I was 13 when I started. I'm 30. its time. plus my 6 year old daughter keeps asking me too, so I figure if I can't do it for me I can for her.
Tags (1)
0 Kudos
10 Replies
mmerose

I'm on day 3. Something that helped me - I cut a straw into a cigarette length and stuffed it with cotton until it "draws" just like my cigarette. It helps with the fidgits! Then someone here mentioned she was using cinnamon sticks. Since I had some in my spice rack, I made another straw ciggie with a piece of cinnamom and cotton.
Good luck! Lots of support here!
0 Kudos
cris2

Congrats on deciding to quit. It is tough, I am on day 3 right now and admittedly struggle but it is worth it. Have you read Alen Carrs book the Easy Way to stop smoking? Good Read

Cris
0 Kudos
ed_11

i am on about hour 9 right now, it is a little easier then i thought, but that itch in the pit of my stomach is growing bigger and bigger the longer i go. the patch is helping a lot, but that itch is not going away. i know it does not help seeing all my "smoking buddies" leave and come back, but i will find something to keep me busy. this site is helping a lot.
0 Kudos
jelena