cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

william3

To drug or not to drug (to quit smoking that is)

Hi Everyone, I am new to this program (just 2 1/2 hours), So I am only at the tracking my smoking stage, but I find myself wondering, whether any of the nicotine replacemnt drugs are actually of any help? They are kind of spendy and often seem to want to take what should be a 10 day physical withdrawal and turn it into 6-8 weeks of slower withdrawal.
So my question to you all that are in the know, Are the nicotine replacment drugs helpful or not?

Thanks, William
0 Kudos
32 Replies
fiveblessings

Here's my take and I promise you will find experiences from the entire spectrum of opinions...I have pretty much tried it all, from Chantix (which I found helpful but after I started smoking again when I stopped taking it I couldn't tolerate the side effects the second time) to the patch. This time I used the losenge and I am on day 29. I found that I needed that help over my cravings in the begining but haven't had any (losenges)for more than a week now and I had no withdrawal when I quit using them. Your best tool is your mindset and attitude. If you go into this with gusto, with a true desire to never pick up another cigarette, you will succeed. Cold turkey or medicated, you use whatever it takes to get you thru the tough first weeks and what anyone else thinks doesn't matter.
Believe in yourself and you will succeed!
Good luck!
0 Kudos
tara2