cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

rhonda16

The Patch and nico gum safe while breastfeeding?

I was wondering if you can use nico. replacements when you breastfeed? All the packages say ask a dr., I am thinking that smoking and breastfeeding can't be much different. Any opinion would help.
Thanks
0 Kudos
7 Replies
dawn12

Im new at this how do I talk to you
0 Kudos
rhonda16

LOL......I think this is how! I'm also new at this.
0 Kudos
mrs.b

I would consult a Doctor..but I believe any chemicals you put in your body are going to show up in your breast milk.
Better to talk to Doctor and not risk it.
Good luck ~
Mrs. B~
0 Kudos
becky15

Hi dawn- I just read your question.. When I had my 2nd baby and wanted to quit smoking, my OB/GYN told me I shouldn't use the patch because the absorption of nicotine in the breast milk has been known to make the baby irritable and jumpy. My doctor just told me quitting cold turkey and breastfeeding more, or cutting back on my cigarettes would be safer than the patch. I did cut back, and breastfeeding my baby more throughout the day seemed to help me relax and fight the urge to light up. Of course I lost my will power once I stopped breastfeeding and I'm trying to quit again! Good luck.
0 Kudos
dawn12

Thanx. I was talking to my DR today, he said not to stress, just try to cut back and set a date to quit. I just have been reading so much. My DR told me stop reading I would just drive myself crazy about damage I wasnt doing.Plus my sons gym teacher told him I was killing my baby with suffication. My DR wanted to know the name of the teacher for telling kids what he said was Bu-----, but I am trying I find as long as I dont get stressed I can go all day, but as soon as I get alittle nerved thats the first thing I reach for. Thanx
0 Kudos
Dr_Hurt
Mayo Clinic