cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

jakekeeton2

Relapsed - Starting fresh

Well, I only got 5 days in.. I started this with great drive and motivation. Maybe I went about this the wrong way. I've been vaping high level nicotine for about 3 years now and decided to quit last Tuesday and started last Wednesday. I bought some nicotine gum to help take the edge off of the cravings and it all started out well. I decided to simply space out the time in which I would vape. Typically I would finish a vape cartridge within 2 days and would hit my vape over 10 times an hour. I decided I would only hit my vape every 3 hours. Next day 4 hours. Next day 5 hours and so on. Things were going well until the third day which was very difficult. My mood was low, the cravings were immense but I got through it. The 4th day, Saturday, went well as I kept myself busy with golf in the morning and didn't bring my vape. Had very little cravings at all and felt like I got through the thick of it. Sunday, everything fell apart. I cant say that the cravings were all that bad, but I was at home most of the day with my vape just in the other room. I gave in a lot more than I would've liked especially in the morning. I felt like I took a huge step back. I decided that I had to just get rid of it. If it wasn't there I feel like I would've been fine popping in a nicotine gum and eventually forgetting about it. I'm not even sure if it is a relapse as I never really had cut it out. I'm just so sick of this addiction and I'm either quitting or I'm not. Throwing it out seems like the only viable option. Please God give me strength. 

Labels (2)
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Barbscloud

Welcome to the Ex @jakekeeton2 In addition to some aids, finding the Ex and smoking cessation class, I did cut down smoking for a week on a strict schedule.  It worked for me, but that doesn't mean it will work for everyone.