cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

tony5

Please introduce yourself.

Jump to solution
Introduce yourself and let us know why you want to quit smoking. Share your story.
Tags (1)
0 Kudos
14 Replies
angela18
hello I do want to quit, it's just that i really enjoy it, i love my first cig of the day and the rest that follow, i do hate the smell and lately i've been washing my hands and mouth hoping to hide the smell from others. I have two beautiful boys and i dont want them around the smoke much longer. i've been smoking for 13 years and i'm scared. I just would love to stop I plan on using the gum to help with cravings, but then i dont know if its better to go cold turkey?? say a prayer for us all angela
0 Kudos
denverdeb
angela, i know exactly how you feel. I LOVE smoking, but I knew for my sake and my family that i had to stop. I knew that since i enjoy it so much, there would NEVER be a time that i would say, "Oh yeah, I am ready to quit." so I just started prepping myself for about 3 weeks. I got chantix and it works awesome, but if you aren't into that I would highly recommend using commit lozenges. cold turkey is just making you uncomfortable when you dont have to be. I would also recommend the becomeanex.org exercises in seperating yourself from triggers. THis worked pretty good for me. I am only on day one, but still, i am just darned proud of getting past my beloved morning/coffee smoke!!

great luck to you... drop me a line if needed
0 Kudos
gloria4
My name is Gloria and I've been smoking since I was 15. I will be 56 in August! I am just getting over a particularly rough bout with allergies and I keep thinking of how i was coughing, sneezing and trying to smoke at the same time. Totally disgusting! I'm just tired of it.
0 Kudos
pdelphyne24