cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

Nmgp20

Please help me!

Today I am having very intense anxiety and panic attacks and cannot break free from the negative thinking.  I want to go out and buy some cigarettes.  Has anybody dealt with panic attacks while trying to quit and, if yes, how did you make it through?

Labels (2)
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Barbscloud

@Nmgp20  Are you OK?  Just saw this now.  I hope you didn't smoke.  There are quitters that had panic attacks prior to quitting.  I had one many years ago and one after I quit.  So I'm no expert on the subject, but do understand how frightening it is.   If you do a search on the front page for Panic Attacks there are a number of posts.  Hopefully one of them may help you.

Are you being treated for panic attacks?   If so, quitting may trigger them.  Do you have a medical person to consult with?

Update please.

Barb

MarilynH

How are you doing this evening @Nmgp20 ?

0 Kudos
Nmgp20

Hi to both of you, Barb and Marilyn for your concern and kindness.  I hadn't written much because I am still having a very difficult time navigating this site.  It doesn't come naturally to me and I end up getting very frustrated and it adds to my anxiety.  However, I have managed to stay smoke-free! In my mind, the strongest of tests for smoking would have been the intense anxiety I was feeling last week.   And to know that I have so far made it through the worse of the worse makes me feel proud beyond belief.  My anxiety is much better and I am under the  care of a doctor.  Thank you for your caring words and presence.  It really does make a difference.

0 Kudos
Barbscloud

@Nmgp20 I'm so glad you responded.  You navigated the site just fine with your response.  Quitting can be more difficult for some than others.   I am so proud of you for moving forward even with such terrible anxiety and it's reassuring knowing you have medical care on your side.