cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

mesmereyes

No cravings but I feel terrible!!

Hello! I'm new here. I'm on Day 3 of quitting. I've been smoking for 16 years. I'm using some 2 mg nicotine gum, and now I'm not having much cravings. I only chew about 2-3 per day. Anyway, I'm writing here because I feel terrible, almost sick. My head is killing me. My headaches aren't relieved with Ibuprofen. I'm tired, I'm lightheaded, lots of gas. I just don't feel good and staying home today. Is this normal? Should I up my use of the gum to curb these side effects?

Also, how in the world do you deal with the irritability/impatience? I'm snapping at my son and husband and losing patience when I usually wouldn't. It's sooooo annoying because I don't really feel that way!

Labels (2)
6 Replies
CommunityAdmin
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi there,

Congrats on getting to your 3rd day of quitting! It's normal to feel some changes in your body as it adjusts to not smoking. 

What you are experiencing sounds like it could possibly be a sign of nicotine withdrawal and increasing the amount of gum you use may help with those headaches if you are only using a couple pieces a day. Typically the recommendation at the beginning of the quit is to use 1-2 pieces every 1-2 hrs.

Look at the use instructions on your box of nicotine gum and also this info may help from the EX site:

https://www.becomeanex.org/quitting-medications/over-the-counter-otc-medications/how-to-use-nicotine...

Let us know how it goes!

~Margaret, EX Community Admin Team

EX Community Admin Team
mesmereyes

Thank you so much! Nicotine withdrawal isn't dangerous like other withdrawals (alcohol, etc) right?

0 Kudos
Giulia