cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

krysta

New to this site..quit date is tomorrow!

Like most people i have a lot of reasons I want to quit. I have been smoking since i was 15 (5 years now) and with my two year old looking up to me I think now is the time to finaly buck up and quit. Also my dad passed away of lung cancer last year so i told myself i had a year and i was done. I am having a really hard time and trying to have confidence in myself im just so afraid to fail because it is so important to me. I just joined this site hoping it would help and i am taking commit lozenges which seem to be helping my urges. If anyone has any suggestions for my beginning stages please, im listening! Tomorrow is coming soon and hopefuly i can do this!!
Tags (1)
0 Kudos
7 Replies
krissy6

Hi Krysta,

Your lucky in one way that you're still young and have only been smoking for 5 years, that does not mean it is any easier , just that you probably haven't done as much harm to your lungs, but many of us have been life-long smokers. We understand your situation and are here for you. Take it one day at a time, if you mess up, so what, start again, just keep trying, that's all any of us can do!
0 Kudos
mizzbflye

Hey Krysta,
I started my quit in June but I have to make it through July right? Im 23 and I know that a smoker is not who I want to be all my life, I want to be a mother, swimmer, dancer, sister, etc.. someone I would be proud of.
So I suggest that you think of all the good you will accomplish from NOT smoking when you have the urges, cravings and what not, just envision your life as a NON smoker and all the benefits that will come with it
That has helped me maintain and I can see the benefits and it has only been 24 days, longer wind in lungs, brightness of my skin and more energy.... so you will have alot more energy to keep up with your 2 year old which would make both of you happy !!