cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

velvet

New to BecomeAnEx

Hi. My name is Velvet. I've been smoking for 8 Years and I want to quit. I want to stop as soon as possible. I tried once before with lozenges but now I can not afford to buy any medication to help me stop. The lozenges were successful, I stopped for 15 days and only slipped up once. I was so proud of myself until I had a bad situation happen and I've been smoking again almost a year now. I do not have any support really. Everyone I know smokes and they laugh at me when I try to stop smoking saying I will never be able to do it and it hurts. I have been unemployed for 2 years and that doesn't help either. I know my triggers and I know what I can do to stop but I know that if I stop then I will relapse and do it all over again. I have little to no confidence that I can do this especially without help. I do not even have medical insurance that will help me get chantix or any other medication. The patches never worked for me it only made me want to smoke more. Well thats my story. I hope I can get some support from lots of you when I'm ready to quit. I feel like I'm really going to need it. Thanks for listening.
0 Kudos
6 Replies
Giulia

Hey Velvet, you don't need any darn thing except your beautiful self to quit. If you know your triggers and know what you have to do to quit and you know you relapse, you know it ALL. We're all here to hold out a hand to grab you before you fall. I know I couldn't have done this if I didn't have the kind of support I had. It makes all the difference.