cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

kelly4

New to Become an EX

Hi Moms,
I'm a 33 year old mom of 3 children. A 12 year old girl and 2 boys, age 9 and 2. I have been smoking since I was a teenager. The longest quit I had was for 7 months during my last pregancy. I enjoyed not smoking but I couldn't shake the feeling that something was missing from my life. I started smoking just 3 days after he was born.
I need to quit. Since my daughter is becoming a teenager, I need to set a proper example for her, and I would like to live long enough to see my kids grow up. Problem is, deep down, I don't really want to quit. I still enjoy smoking and I can't imagine how I can live my life without smoking. I guess I'm afraid of the unknown. How can I make myself want to do this?
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
12 Replies
darla-young

Hi my name is Darla. Your inbox was the first one I read. I am new to becoming an ex. This is actually my first day. I am actually scared and nervous. I don't no how to do this and stick to it. I have a daughter, she is almost 2, I want to be around for her more than anything, but this habit almost makes me feel like it's more important. I really enjoy smoking as well, and even with all the horrific facts out there about smoking I still light up. Why?? My fiance asked me whole hearted to please quit, and I did try but not hard enough I guess. I lied and he thinks that I have quit for a little while now. He just doesn't understand so I can't really talk to him about this addiction or at least try to help him understand that this process takes time and for some many attempts. I need the same question answered as well How can I make myself do this?
0 Kudos
kim-clark

Hi Darla,