cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

shell3

New & Terrified

Hi all, I'm Shell. I just turned 26 about a week ago. I've been smoking heavily since I was 14 years old. I guess the last time I remember NOT smoking would be when I was playing with Barbies. I really don't remember. All I know is that my family has a history of cancer, and I've been threatened with health issues recently. I suppose I'm scared enough to consider quitting now, even though I really don't want to. I'm stubborn and really selfish about smoking. Tough love never worked with me, nor have medical warnings. I don't really know if I can do this. I'd like to try to ask some of this community about medicines like Chantix to get an opinion on what I should try. If anyone has advice or suggestions please reply. Thanks and good luck to everyone.
0 Kudos
8 Replies
shell3

Thanks hun, I appreciate your reply. I have tried Wellbutrin too, for depression, and it just seemed to make me gain weight, so I quit that. I don't know about Chantix or anything else but I guess it depends on the person too. I'm gonna have to spend alot of money to save money here! lol
0 Kudos
manofsteele

Anything is possible ....

Any Habit can be changed.....

Any Addiction can be broken ....

All types of advice are available .....

You Can Win This Fight !
0 Kudos
shell3

Thank you Cindy - you're an inspiration. In only 3 weeks you're doing so well. I hope I can do it too. I figure trying the gum, patch, etc will be cheaper in the long run anyway, so I'll try all of them if I have to. Good luck to you.
0 Kudos

We are all here for similar reasons. Just reach out and someone will hear you. Good luck. I know you can quit if you want to. I have and I feel great for it. The support you get here could be esssential to your success, so don't be afraid to ask for anything!
0 Kudos
shell3