cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

amylynn1115

I'm new to this. Please help!

Hello everyone,

I'm new to this whole seeking help while trying to quit thing. I have no idea how to use this website, or how to successfully quit smoking. I'm currently tracking my cigarettes and I've set a quit date. Please welcome me and share any tips and of course add me to be your friend 🙂

Thank you

Amy

0 Kudos
2 Replies
jvickers001

Amy,

My names Jessica and I actually just started wanting to quit. I set a quit date which was yesterday however, I was unprepared for what happened. I decided to join this site about an hour ago and now I understand why it was so difficult. I have only had 2 cigarettes since Sunday at 11 pm however, I only smoked about 9 a day. I never smoke when I am at home. I realized the past two days that is it more of an addiction to the habit than an addiction to nicotine. I only smoked at specific times so I never had a nicotine craving but more I just wanted to because it was time to. I'm new too so if you ever need some encouragement just let me know. I am working on changing my habits before I establish another quit date.

Jessica

0 Kudos
Mothergoose9

If you go to my "newbies listen up" blog, I just put a l-o-n-g reply on there about mindset. 🙂  Mindset is KEY!!!  Like Jessica just said, the physical addiction is a very small part of the whole picture, and mindset will be what will take you the distance, so it is CRUCIAL that you establish one.  I finally decided that "Smoking is simply NOT an option!!  Not for ANY reason, not under ANY circumstance!!"   Then I would allow NO smoking thoughts into my mind.  I wouldn't flirt with them, dwell on them, entertain them......nada.....just would immediately dismiss them and focus on something else.