cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

latyday

I'm New and here's my story.

Hi everyone,

I'm new here, I've been smoking since I was 17 yrs old ten damn years...and i'm tired of it. I've quit before when I had to i.e. went to basic training and when I was pregnant ( still smoked mabe 1 or 2 cigs a day) but recently, my mother who has been a smoker for over 20 yrs, was diagnosed with Lung Cancer right after she quit smoking; she had quit maybe a couple of months before being diagnosed Ain't that a B**ch.... It scared me to death so I tried to stop and was doing good until her health started to decline and the doctors said there was nothing more they could do and they had recomended hospice. She had lost alot of weight, hair and couldn't walk for a while. She looked like the shell of the woman I once knew. At that point I gave my self full permission to just go and buy a damn pack of Ciggs, Sound crazy don't? Well I felt it was what I needed at the time because it was a lot to handle and most if not all of the responsiability rested on my shoulders to take care of her. Not only that but I chaged jobs around the same time I got the news and got stressed out. Thats no excuse I know....anyway, My mother is my best friend, I can't imagine loosing her. But she is defenatly a fighter! you should see her, ever since she got out of the hospital she has willed her self, with the help of jesus ofcourse, to walk, eat and become as independant a possiable. So just this past week My chest was hurting and my throat was sore and at that point I Just made up my mind to say F**K it ! and quit for good. I didn't set a date or anything I just did it. I thought well hell, if I did it before for X amout of time I can do it again. So, I smoked the rest of my ciggarretts and when I ran out I didn't buy any more. I was on Chantix before and never finished all the pills and had some left over So, I started a new p