cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

I am brand new to this and really want to stop smoking after being a smoker for well over 50 years,what do I do first

I am brand new to this site and really want to stop smoking after being a smoker for over 50 years, what is my first step.

20 Replies

Everyone is offering up excellent advice. 

Remember, you are not alone! We are all here, and we have all been where you are.

I smoked for about 30 years, and decided enough was enough.

Determination was my key, pledging, and after I pledged, I was true to my word, so pledging saved me.

Stick around, read, ask questions, if you are struggling, please cry out for us to help, we can help you through the rough spots.

Thovis

You will get great advice on this site.  The only advice I will offer is pretty simple.....  When you quit, that's it.  It's your decision.  Don't delay the next cigarette hoping the craving will go away someday.  That doesn't work.  

I smoked for 43 years and gave them up 70 days ago and never looked back.  I have seen people struggle hard with quitting, while I seem to be breezing through it.  The only difference I can explain is that I made a decision to quit and when I make a decision I own it.  

Best of luck!  

Barbscloud

You've already gotten great advice, just want to add my welcome to the Ex.

Barb

Verogarcia72

Pick an important date such as birthday or anniversary, start 10 wk patch program , keep lollipops and write your WHY and keep with you You can do it,. Think of your health . 

0 Kudos
Pawr