cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

tamer-said

Hi. I am new to this site and looking for support.

Hi everybody. My name is Tamer and I am new to Become An Ex. As of now I am 19 years old and I have been smoking since I was 16. I currently smoke between 1-2 packs a day. I've tried many times to quit and once I made it 6 weeks without a cigarette. One major problem is that I am half Middle Eastern and most Middle Easterns obviously smoke so all my friends, my father, and hs family all light up. I am looking for all the support I can get. I try my best to live a healthy lifestyle outside of smoking by eating healthy and exercising but cigarettes have halted that process over the last three years. I admire what everybody on this website is doing in making a change to better themselves, which is a main reason I joined. I am planning to get engaged very soon hopefully and I really want to do everything I can to please my family and be a good role model for the younger people in my family. So if anybody has any tips or any support I would greatly appreciate it and I hope I can help as well. Thank you so much. Take care.
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Giulia

Greetings Tamer!

As hothula said: read, read, read. Read all you can on this site and then keep on reading. If you're unfamiliar with Allen Carr's book "The Easy Way to Stop Smoking," check it out (most libraries have it). It deals with the psychology of this addiction and is very helpful. You need to have a strong game plan. Before I quit, I spent a month reading and getting my head in the right place to make smoking a part of my past. It it an ongoing commitment. One can never take one's quit for granted.