cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

ryan11

Going on week three!!!

Hi, I'm Ryan. I've been smoking for about 8 years. I smoked cigars a few times a year before I started smoking regularly. I started working in a very busy restaurant and eventually I was smoking about a pack plus a day. Although my parents really didn't like me smoking and my grandmother passed away two years ago from lung cancer (metastasized breast cancer, she never smoked) I decided to quit because I just wanted to be free of that crutch mostly. Feeling jittery in a long meeting. Cutting a conversation short because I need another smoke. Plus every other reason anyone could think of. I tried quitting before. First cold turkey, then gum, and finally I think I'm going to kick cigs with patches. I actually feel like it should be harder. I really like the patch. I have had some stressful situations come up and just random situations when I REALLY wanted a cigarette.

I use a few techniques to get my mind off of it. When I first quit I took naps when I started feeling really "out of it." Both my parents never smoked, but both my younger brothers smoke. I never gave them a cigarrete, but I hope if I quit they might give it another try.

Just letting everyone know how far I've come gives me a lot of motivation to prove I can do it. There's only been one person in my life that has reacted negatively towards my quitting. Even most of the people I know who smoke have been really supportive.

Keep trying and remember all the reasons you want to quit smoking!
~Ryan
0 Kudos
7 Replies
lynn14

Ryan, your post is an inspiration to us all!!!! Three weeks is a longgggg time without a smoke, and to say what you've done is admirable would be an understatement!!

Best wishes for your continuance....

Lynn
0 Kudos
mystic

Great for you ryan.Keep up the good work
0 Kudos
ryan11