cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

Day 1 of quitting chew

Hi, My name is Jonathan and i have been chewing tobacco for almost 11 years. Sadly, i have lied to my wife about quitting for 8 years. She has caught me hiding it from her many times and i always say i will quit. Yesterday was another one of those days and this is the final straw (understandably). So today is day 1of quitting chew, and this time is truly different.

First, i have signed up for Ex Community to find support though all of the withdrawals i am about to experience. I am currently using nicotine patches, gum and sunflower seeds to resist the urges. And i am looking for a marriage councilor to visit so that i cam mend the trust I have broken between my wife and I. None of these things have ever happened before when trying to quit, so i have a positive outlook on this time around.

I couple silly things i am going to try to help keep me motivated. 1, i am going to make my own sobriety chips out of wood. Just something to remind me of my success. 2, I am going to set aside the money i would have spend on chew and give it to my wife as a gift for her to do something special as a way of saying i am sorry for lying and hurting her. 

Hoping to find some support here to help me through all of this since many of you have experienced quitting. Thanks!

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
6 Replies
CommunityAdmin
Community Manager
Community Manager

Congrats on your quit journey @OptimusPrime91 . Keep coming back and posting.  Journaling as you go will give others a sense of where you are in your quit and support you on your path.

EX Community Admin Team
Barbscloud

Welcome to the Ex @OptimusPrime91   Do this for you.  For your health and well-being.