cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

Etaylor7116

Anxiety and Smoking

Hi Everyone. This is my first post. My quit date is 9/15. I smoked cigarettes from the time I was 12 until I was 22. When I got pregnant I stopped for two years. Now I have been smoking the Juul for 3 years and I'm ready to stop. My biggest struggle is my anxiety. I've struggled with anxiety for years and when I try to quit I get panic attacks. Has anyone else had to deal with this? What do you suggest! I just want to BREATHE AIR. Thanks, Emily. 

0 Kudos
9 Replies
CommunityAdmin
Community Manager
Community Manager

Welcome Etaylor7116‌!

There are some posts on panic attacks and anxiety. I'm sure other people will also chime in as they see your post.

Mark
EX Community Manager

EX Community Admin Team
0 Kudos
sweetplt

Hi and Welcome to Ex’s Etaylor7116 

I am so glad you are quitting smoking/JUUL...I suffer from GAD (General Anxiety Disorder)...and with smoking I thought it helped me with my anxiety attacks, however, I was wrong...I never worked on how to help my anxiety.  When I quit smoking, I was committed.  There is so much on the internet on how to deal with anxiety.  I found taking walks outside helped, yoga and meditation and most of all breathing exercises.

pastedImage_2.gif

I haven’t had an attack in almost two years...because I practice the techniques everyday which help keep them at bay.  Also, if I feel an attack coming on I turn to my breathing exercises or meditation, etc.,  Quitting Juul is feasible, you just must find the thing that helps you with your attacks.  Talk to your Doctor about your concerns he/she should be able to help you out...

Keep close to the support site, we are here to help you and want to see you succeed...

Work on a plan from now until the 15th...by reading My EX Plan | BecomeAnEX and reading the blogs.  You Can Do This...~ Gotcha in my thoughts ~ Colleen 640 DOF