cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connect with others living with health conditions

surviver

cancer surviver

I found out today I am cancer free ya. I decided that this would be a great time to quit smoking. I have wanted to quit sooner, but dealing with surgery etc, I just could not pull it off. This is my first time trying a group to help me. So I hope this works,because I really want to quit. Thanks for listening.

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
9 Replies
YoungAtHeart

Congratulations on your news!  Now is th PERFECT time to quit smoking!!!

The most important thing you can do to start is to educate yourself on what nicotine does to your mind and body. To that end, I highly recommend Allen Carr's “The Easy Way to Stop Smoking.” This is an easy and entertaining read. Here is a link to a free PDF version of it:

http://media.wix.com/ugd/74fa87_2010cc5496521431188f905b7234a829.pdf

As well, read the sections on this site, do the tracking and separation exercises, and read the blogs, responses and pages of folks you think might be helpful. You might also want to visit quitsmokingonline.com, and whyquit.com.

After you have completed the readings, it will be time to make your quit plan, including what quit aid , if any, you will use, and the crave busters you think will work for you. Then you can approach your quit day with a plan in place.  

Stay close to us and ask questions as you have them and for support when you need it.  We will be with you every step of the way!

Nancy

0 Kudos
joyeuxencore

Welcome!

Congratulations on the best decision you could possibly make for yourself and your loved ones…

It takes the mindset that we aren't giving up anything...we are doing it because we want to and not signing up for a lifetime of deprivation but a lifetime of freedom...that is the personal journey no one can take for us...We will be here for you every step of the way! xo

"YOU are worth SO MUCH MORE than a cigarette" xo