cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connect with others living with health conditions

Ehulsinger83

Recently diagnosed, can i quit?

I've been smoking for 20 years 2 packs A-day in being told I have COPD i want to quit but I am not sure how to or where to start. I'm 38 and I found out on my birthday that I have COPD and i am stage 3 I can't believe this is going to be my life now

Labels (1)
Tags (1)
17 Replies
YoungAtHeart

Welcome!

WOW - that is a tough diagnosis at so young an age  I am so sorry.  Did they suggest pulmonary rehab?  They teach you exercises to assist with your breathing.  I hope others who have done it will chime in; I have not.  You absolutely, positively need to quit NOW!  We can help.

The important thing you can do right now is to educate yourself on what nicotine does to your body and mind. To that end, I highly recommend Allen Carr's “The Easy Way to Stop Smoking.”    You can search for it online or at your local library.  Here is a video to inform you further about nicotine addiction: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IpWMgPHn0Lo&feature=youtu.be.

Let me know if you decide to use a quit aid and I will give you my thoughts on them.

It will be informative if you do the tracking and separation exercises recommended here on the site. As you track each cigarette smoked, note its importance, and what you might do instead. Put each one off just a little to prove that you don't NEED a cigarette just because you think you do.

The idea is to change up your routines so the smoking associations are reduced.  Drink your coffee with your OTHER hand in a place different from when you smoked. Maybe switch to tea for a bit.  If you always had that first smoke with your coffee, try putting your tennies on right out of bed, going for a quick walk, then taking your shower and THEN your coffee! .  Take a different route to work. Take a quick walk at break time where the smokers AREN'T.