cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connect with others living with health conditions

TAG-1-QUIT

I’m new to this support community - but I realize that I...

Jump to solution

I’m new to this support community - but I realize that I need help and support to quit smoking. My name is Tom and I have been dealing with lung cancer since 2014. I’ve had my upper left lung removed and have endured three different chemo treatments, along with an immunotherapy treatment and most recently 3 weeks of high intensity radiation for my cancer which has metastasized to my lymph nodes. I am ashamed to say that I still smoke - have smoked for 50 years and I need to and want to quit smoking. I have greatly cut down but I need to quit all the way. I’m hoping support from this site will help me be successful this time. I just got Chantix from my doctor and have started taking that today. Any help I get is appreciated!

Labels (1)
Tags (1)
3 Solutions

Accepted Solutions
Maki

Welcome to the community @TAG-1-QUIT 

Chantix is helpful . Any questions you might have , don't be afraid to ask . There is much support here . We all walk the journey together one day at a time . 

My best friend is having lung surgery Monday ;  her upper right lobe removed . 

You have been through a lot and are going through a lot .  You can quit smoking . Reach out for help before you smoke . There are many here to help if you need . 

I smoked 28 years . Will have a ten year quit in June . Never thought I could do it . One day at a time . 

We go by the Ds . They help too . If you don't know what they are they are Distract , delay , discuss ,drink lots of water , deep breaths and don't smoke . 

H. A. L. T . Before you smoke ask yourself if you are hungry , angry , lonely , tired . Many times you'll find it's not a smoke you need but maybe rest , or maybe some light snack . 

Chantix will help take off the edge .