cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

michelle58

This is my story

I started smoking when I was 11 years old. I only started after my parents got divorced and my mother pissed me off, so I thought "well I'll show her". Guess what it back fired as usual. I accomplished my goal of making her mad, but by the time she found out I had been smoking for about 3 years. Back then you did not have to be 18 to by cigs. As a matter of fact I believe I had just turned 18 when that law went into effect. Any way, I became dependant on my smokes after that. I was always able to quit when I had my children, but I always picked them back up after they were born. I am like some of the others in this group, I was a singer in my early years. I participated in a lot of talent shows and won, and now I only sing in my shower or living room with the stereo loud enough that you can't hear me. I was also an athlete when I was in school, track, cheerleading, and basketball. I am now 31 years old and I am attending college to get a degree in human services and I can not even walk up a flight of stairs to get to my classes. I have to take the elevator if my classes are anywhere other than ground level. The other students look at me as though I must just be lazy. I was always a very trim and fit person who never weighed over 130 pounds, and now I can not exercise at all, my metabolism is gone, and instead of 130 pounds I am at 210 and steadily gaining. My doctors are trying to help me to figure out a way to loose the weight but everything is so expensive. My main reasons to quit was my husband and my son. My husband is the second man that I married and the only man who has never hit me or belittled me. He hates the smell of smoke. He did not tell me i had to quit, he simply said "Maybe if you could quit smoking then we will work together to help with your weight and your breathing". I am now walking around the block wi