cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

melissa24

Newbie here too! Help!

HI There all! Basically, I am a working mom of three going through a divorce, who found out last night that due to a CT scan, I may or may not have lung cancer (find out in 3 months after the 2nd CT) Talk about stress!!!!!! My doc said I need to quit NOW!!!!! Needless, to say I joined today because it is better late than never! I have been a smoker for only 6 years and thought, nah it would never happen to me! But I learned yesterday, you don't have to smoke for 20 yrs to get cancer!!!! 6 yrs is enough....anyone out there with similar experiences or ideas in dealing with the next 3 months of stress while trying to quit lemmie hear it cuz I am freaking out!!!!
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
4 Replies
melissa24

Danielle,

Thank you soo much! I really appericated your kind words. I really am anxious to quit but at the same time I don't want to jump the gun either and mess up-ya know? So I have started with the triggers keeping my smoking diary, but I am just soaking everything in that I can from this website. I do know that I have smoked less today (about 75% less) to be honest, I feel the urge, but when I do light up-you know that nice feeling with the first part of that smoke when its been a few hours? That has been replaced by guilt, shame and mostly fear for my kids.

Have you been able to quit? And if so did you use any meds? I tried Chantix and loved it but my insurance will not cover it anymore so I was thinking of trying the logenzes (sp).

Any ideas of what worked for you would be a great help for me. I tried cold turkey-NOT!!!! Disaster!, Chantix, the gum (I think the gum tastes sooo nasty with the pepper taste-I couldn't do it without wanting to gag and of course, the patch.

THanks for letting me get some of this off my chest.....I really appericate it!

Melissa
0 Kudos
sabrina-lee2