cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Discuss different approaches to quitting, including medication

mike-williams

Im new to this posting and discussion thing but here it goes.

I started taking chantix again about 3 weeks ago. I had taken it before and it had worked really well for me. quit for almost 2 months but really had no plan to keep myself from going back to smoking and as soon as i got around my friends i caved and started back up. Anyway, i've had really gnarly side effects from the drug this time around. the biggest thing is feeling exausted all the time, i can barely keep my energy up at work to function, i've tried to counter it with caffeene but it doesnt seem to help, also i feel (for lack of a better word) depressed. I've heard from friends that it can be pretty bad on your emotional state while on the drug and i think im experiencing that first hand. i stopped taking it for a few days now and feel almost euphoric not being on it. Trying to determine if the good outweighs the bad with this medicine, anyone else going through the same thing?
Labels (1)
Tags (1)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
debby4

did you have the same side effects when you took it before? I sure hope you are able to work this out and get & stay quit...it's so important but Chantix can be gnarly (as you said). so far I haven't had any ill effects but I'm not taking the full dosage yet either. I do remember from past quits that I was tired (exhausted actually) and depressed--and that was without meds. Not sure if this was helpful, but want you to know you have lots of support here. Hang in there & call your doctor about the side effects if they persist!!!
r0ses